Forum Index
Hyundai Accent Club of Malaysia
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sudden lost of power
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Car Engine & Electrical
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eugene jk
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Kajang

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:53 pm    Post subject: Sudden lost of power Reply with quote

Hi guys,

I am not sure whether my problem is the same as noname's engine jerking but it happen to my car twice today on my way from Klang back to Kajang.

While cruising on LDP, the car suddenly like loosing power, speed was reduced abit but i was still maintaining my foot on the gas pedal. Of all the sudden, it kicks back again to normal. The 2nd time when i was cruising quite slowly in Kajang and it suddenlt like loose power again.

Cant get my car check bcos SC not open today.

I was suspecting battery problem (bcos I encounter few times hard to get the engine started this few days)

Might be spark plug ignition not working

Might be gear problem oso.

Any Sifu-Sifu out there have any idea?? Desperate need help.. Sad

My Accent 2yrs 4 months old with milage 53000km adi..


Last edited by eugene jk on Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jamesc
Elite Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1138
Location: Klang Valley, KL

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

60K milage soon, change timing belt and see the difference.
i dont think it has to do with the gearbox.
sparkplug or the cable might be it too. will update on u
_________________


JamesC © HACM Windscreen Sticker® ™
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
noname
Elite Member


Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 1548
Location: Petaling Jaya

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can ask them to check the ECU part... probably they just reset it and it will be alright.

mine is losing power, then pickup using top gear, suddenly free gear and etc... i also dunno what causing it and i just reset my ECU... all went back to normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
chkwong
Senior Member


Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 882
Location: Bandar Kinrara, Puchong

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's the throttle sensor, coz mine is about to have such situation as well. Last Sat sent my car to Os*** Puchong, they say it's the throttle sensor needs to replace. I said "when", they say, wait until you see the check engine light on or ECU error code return. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
eugene jk
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Kajang

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see.. thanks for sharing..

My dad said might due to fuel injection problem.. still unknown till now.

I when and pump additional RM50 fuel today and test drive to cyberjaya for about 45km.. seems to be ok..

So if anything happen or car broke down tmr on my way to work, you guys stand by to pick me up huh.. haha (touch wood)..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mtuc2003
General Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very intresting.... where is this sensor located,is it possible by just cleaning the sensor with wd40 or electric contact cleaner?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smartgirl
General Member


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Penang

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chkwong wrote:
I think it's the throttle sensor, coz mine is about to have such situation as well. Last Sat sent my car to Os*** Puchong, they say it's the throttle sensor needs to replace. I said "when", they say, wait until you see the check engine light on or ECU error code return. Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked


I agree with you cos i have been having this problem since last month and went to KB workshop and those guys told me its the throttle sensor. They just cleaned it up for me...dun have to change. And it has been 2 weeks already....didnt face that problem anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mtuc2003
General Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How did they clean the sensor? Did they removed the whole throttle body?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smartgirl
General Member


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Penang

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mtuc2003 wrote:
How did they clean the sensor? Did they removed the whole throttle body?


Im sorry im not able to share with you how they did it coz i met up with a fren at the workshop and was busy chatting with him Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
eugene jk
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Kajang

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terima kasih banyak banyak on your feedback.. I will be goin to SC Klang Lama 1st thing tmr morning to check the problem..

Looking at you guys feedback, there is higher chances due to throttle sensor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
smartgirl
General Member


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Penang

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eugene jk wrote:
Terima kasih banyak banyak on your feedback.. I will be goin to SC Klang Lama 1st thing tmr morning to check the problem..

Looking at you guys feedback, there is higher chances due to throttle sensor.


No problem..Glad to be able to share with members in the forum Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
david
Club Founder


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: 3rd rock from sun

PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cleaning the throttle sensor no need to take out the entire throttle body, just unplug the intake hose and clean it, unless the technician is short hand and need to unscrew out for cleaning.
_________________
.: Safety, Handling and Performance - The Art Cycle of Car Modifications :.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
eugene jk
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Kajang

PostPosted: Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys..

I hav been to Old Klang Road SC to check on the problem.. the mechanic check the car, check the throttle sensor, change spark plug, change power cable and check the air intake.. but fail to indentify the problem. it took about 2 hours. He did acknowledge that my car had sudden lost power problem but he just couldnt troubleshoot where it comes from. At the end, he just assemble my car back to stock and advise me to take my car to jln ipoh sc to check it out. I did not hav the time thus i didnt go to jln ipoh sc.

I hav been driving my car for the past few days.. and it seems to be ok again.. no conclusion at the moment..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
noname
Elite Member


Joined: 07 Oct 2005
Posts: 1548
Location: Petaling Jaya

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eugene,

did you or they reset your ECU? if oledi reset, guarantee they wont detect it. it happen to me. i reset it and went to them to complaint. they said they couldnt detect it and blame on my accessories installed on my car...

darn it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
eugene jk
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 132
Location: Kajang

PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did reset before I go wor.. dxxx it....

but my car completely stock, he just said that the sc has not sufficient instrument to check the problem and ask me to sent my car to jln ipoh sc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic     Forum Index -> Car Engine & Electrical All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group